Which players have won the most Ballons d’Or?

After a 12 months off due to the covid-19 pandemic, the Ballon d’Or gala returns on Monday 29 November, as the distinguished journal France Soccer recognises the excellent performers in males’s and girls’s soccer in 2021.

First Ballons d’Or since 2019 to be awarded at Paris ceremony

On the ceremony, which is to be held on the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris, 4 prizes shall be handed out, headlined by the Males’s Ballon d’Or and Ladies’s Ballon d’Or. The Yashin Trophy and the Kopa Trophy, given to the very best males’s goalkeeper and under-21 participant, respectively, can even be awarded.

Paris Saint-Germain and Argentina celebrity Lionel Messi and Bayern Munich’s Poland striker Robert Lewandowski look like the favourites for the Males’s Ballon d’Or, whereas Barcelona and Spain’s Alexia Putellas is the most important frontrunner for the ladies’s award.

See additionally:

  • The total lowdown on the Ballon d’Or favourites
  • Messi out so as to add to document Ballon d’Or haul

    Whereas Lewandowski is but to win the award – however would absolutely have claimed the trophy had it not been cancelled in 2020 – Messi is chasing a document seventh Ballon d’Or. The 34-year-old, who left Barcelona for PSG in the summertime, was the recipient of the newest Males’s Ballon d’Or in 2019, having additionally picked up the accolade in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

    The subsequent-most frequent winner of the Males’s Ballon d’Or is Cristiano Ronaldo, who has scooped the prize 5 instances, most not too long ago in 2017. Messi and Ronaldo’s current domination of the award is such that, in 2018, Luka Modric was the primary participant outdoors the pair to win it since Kaká 11 years beforehand.

    Males’s Ballon d’Or: the ten a number of winners

    Lionel Messi (Argentina)
    2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019
    Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
    2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017
    Michel Platini (France)
    1983, 1984, 1985
    Johan Cruyff (Netherlands)
    1971, 1973, 1974
    Marco van Basten (Netherlands)
    1988, 1989, 1992
    Franz Beckenbauer (Germany)
    1972, 1976
    Ronaldo (Brazil)
    1997, 2002
    Alfredo di Stéfano (Argentina/Spain/Colombia)
    1957, 1959
    Kevin Keegan (England)
    1978, 1979
    Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (Germany)
    1980, 1981

    Hegerberg, Rapinoe the one girls’s winners to this point

    On the 2021 gala, the Ladies’s Ballon d’Or shall be awarded for less than the third time. In 2018, its inaugural 12 months, the prize went to Ada Hegerberg of Lyon and Norway, earlier than OL Reign and the US’ Megan Rapinoe turned its second recipient in 2019. Neither participant is on this 12 months’s 20-strong shortlist.

    Age Hegerberg gained the primary Ladies’s Ballon d’Or in 2018, adopted by Megan Rapinoe in 2019.

    2021 Ballon d’Or: full record of nominees

    Males’s Ballon d’Or:

    Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain/Italy), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus/Italy), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus/Italy), César Azpilicueta (Chelsea/Spain), Rúben Días (Manchester Metropolis/Portugal), Nicolò Barella (Inter Milan/Italy), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester Metropolis/Belgium), Jorginho (Chelsea/Italy), Luka Modric (Actual Madrid/Croatia), Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United/Portugal), Phil Foden (Manchester Metropolis/England), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United/Portugal), Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund/Norway), Harry Kane (Tottenham/England), N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea/France), Simon Kjaer (AC Milan/Denmark), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Poland), Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea/Belgium), Riyad Mahrez (Manchester Metropolis/Algeria), Lautaro Martínez (Inter Milan/Argentina), Karim Benzema (Actual Madrid/France), Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain/France), Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain/Argentina), Gerard Moreno (Villarreal/Spain), Mason Mount (Chelsea/England), Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain/Brazil), Pedri (Barcelona/Spain), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool/Egypt), Raheem Sterling (Manchester Metropolis/England), Luis Suárez (Atlético Madrid/Uruguay).

    Ladies’s Ballon d’Or:

    Kadidiatou Diani (Paris Saint-Germain/France), Fran Kirby (Chelsea/England), Jennifer Hermoso (Barcelona/Spain) Christiane Endler (Olympique Lyon/Chile), Christine Sinclair (Thorns FC/Canada), Ashley Lawrence (Paris Saint-Germain/Canada), Irene Paredes (Paris Saint-Germain/Barcelona/Spain), Jessie Fleming (Chelsea/Canada), Lieke Martens (Barcelona/Netherlands), Sandra Paños (Barcelona/Spain), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal/Netherlands), Ellen White (Manchester Metropolis/England), Pernille Tougher (Chelsea/Denmark), Sam Mewis (North Carolina Braveness/United States), Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyon/France), Marie-Antoinette Katoto (Paris Saint-Germain/France), Stina Blackstenius (Hacken/Sweden), Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea/Sweden), Sam Kerr (Chelsea/Australia), Alexia Putellas (Barcelona/Spain).

    Yashin Trophy:

    Thibaut Courtois (Actual Madrid/Belgium), Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan/Paris Saint-Germain/Italy), Ederson (Manchester Metropolis/Brazil), Édouard Mendy (Chelsea/Senegal), Samir Handanovic (Inter Milan), Emiliano Martínez (Aston Villa/Argentina), Keylor Navas (Paris Saint-Germain/Costa Rica), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich/Germany), Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid/Slovenia), Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester Metropolis/Denmark).

    Kopa Trophy:

    Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund/England), Jeremy Doku (Rennes/Belgium), Ryan Gravenberch (Ajax/Netherlands), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United/England), Nuno Mendes (Paris Saint-Germain/Portugal), Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich/Germany), Pedri (Barcelona/Spain), Giovanni Reyna (Borussia Dortmund/USA), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal/England), Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen/Germany).

    Supply hyperlink

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *